Praying According to the Will of God

Wednesday nights our Pastor is teaching on prayer. He has been for several weeks. It has been a real blessing. I would like to share some of what he has taught here. We spent at least four Wednesday nights on the following topic. I am going to quote from the book How To Pray by R.A. Torrey. It is published by Moody Classics. Page 42-44

Praying according to the will of God.

Great light is thrown upon the subject “how to pray” by 1 John 5:14-15. 14This is the confidence we have in approaching God: that if we ask anything according to his will, he hears us. 15And if we know that he hears us–whatever we ask–we know that we have what we asked of him.

This passage teaches us plainly that if we are to pray aright, we must pray according to God’s will, then we beyond a peradventure get the thing we ask of Him.

But can we know the will of God? Can we know that any specific prayer s according to His will” We most surely can. How? 1. First by the Word. God has revealed His will in His Word. When anything is definitely promised in the Word of God, we know that it is His will to give that thing. If then when I pray, I can find some definite promise of God’s Word and lay that promise before God, I know that He hears me, and If I know that He hears me. I know that I have the petition that I have asked of Him. For example, when I pray for wisdom, I know that it is the will of God to give me wisdom, for He says so in James 1:5. . . . When we have a specific promise in the Word of God, if we doubt that it is God’s will, or if we doubt that God will do the ting that we ask, we make God a liar. He is one of the greatest secrets of prevailing prayer: To study the Word of God to find what God’s will is as revealed there in the promises, and then simply take these promises and spread them out before God in prayer with the absolutely unwavering expectation that He will do what He has promised in His Word.

Leave a Reply

