First Draft!

This was great encouragement to me since I am at the beginning of a writing career and have been fretting about how often I rewrite and redo.

Live to Write - Write to Live

I started writing a new novel in February of 2012. I planned to write a chapter a month; in fact, I wrote a chapter every two months until September of last year – until I started over again. For a little external pressure, I signed up for NaNoWriMo, and I had over 80,000 words on the page by the end of November 2012. They were good words, too. But they weren’t the right words, or they weren’t in the right order, and the story still wasn’t clear, so in December, I put that draft aside, too.

In January 2013, I started over again. Thanks to all the previous work I’d done on the book, I’d gained a much clearer idea of the story. Instead of spanning a lifetime, the story would take place over three years. And some of it would take place in a setting…

View original post 487 more words

Leave a Reply

